Sharing a Canvas & Canvas Permissions

Overview

Canvas Admins can invite any team member or team to a canvas as either an editor or an admin. These users will have access to edit, duplicate, and archive the Canvas. Only Canvas Admins can delete and share the Canvas with other users. User access can be changed at any time.

Please note that when sharing a Canvas with a team, any changes to the users added or removed from the team will also reflect in the Canvas. If a Canvas is shared with a user at both the individual and team level, their individual sharing level will take precedence.  

Permissions

Any user can create a Canvas, which assigns that user Canvas 'Admin' permissions. As the Canvas Admin, you can invite additional users and designate 'Admin' or 'Editor' permissions to that user. If the radio dial 'Invite the selected team to Canvas' option is selected when creating a Team Canvas, all team members will automatically be invited with edit access. 

Canvas Permissions Editor Admin
Create a Canvas Any user can create a Canvas!
Open Canvas Yes Yes
Edit Canvas Yes Yes
Rename Canvas Yes Yes
Duplicate Canvas Yes Yes
Archive Canvas Yes Yes
Delete Canvas No Yes
Share Canvas No Yes
Publish OKRs in Canvas Managers, Co-Managers, and Team Admins (or Canvas Admins with these permissions) can publish team OKRs.

**Any user can create a canvas. When using templates to create/reset Team OKRs, users must be on that team to add the template.  

Canvas Admins: Invite Users to a Canvas

  1. Navigate to OKR Canvas from the 9-square waffle menu in the upper left-hand corner of WorkBoard.
  2. Select the Share icon in the upper right-hand corner of your Canvas.
  3. Search and select the user(s) or team(s) you’d like to add.
  4. Grant either Admin or Editor access from the dropdown.
  5. Check the box if you'd like to notify the added users.
  6. When finished, select Share.

Canvas Admins: Remove Users from a Canvas

  1. Navigate to OKR Canvas from the 9-square waffle menu in the upper left-hand corner of WorkBoard.
  2. Select the Share icon in the upper right-hand corner of your Canvas.
  3. Click the dropdown arrow next to the contributor's permission status

  4. Select Remove

Edit Access: View Canvas Contributors

  1. Navigate to OKR Canvas from the 9-square waffle menu in the upper left-hand corner of WorkBoard.
  2. Select the View icon in the upper right-hand corner of your Canvas.

 

Was this article helpful?
3 out of 3 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request