Impact When a User Exits WorkBoard

Overview

When a user is part of WorkBoard, they create or accrue OKRs, Action items, Meetings, and Biz Reviews. Here we'll review how these items are impacted when a user exits WorkBoard. 

Impact on OKRs

What happens to OKRs when the Team Manager leaves:

The OKRs stay assigned to the deactivated Manager (user) until:

  • A Co-Manager or WorkBoard Admin assigns a new Manager to the Team or
  • The Co-Manager assigns the OKR to themself or another Co-Manager.

What happens to OKRs owned by a Co-Manager:

The OKRs stay assigned to the deactivated Co-Manager until the Manager or another Co-Manager changes the owner.

What happens to KRs owned by someone that is removed from the Org:

These KRs stay assigned to the deactivated user until a new owner is set by a Team Admin, Co-Manager or Manager.

What happens to Personal OKRs: 

Personal OKRs that were Organizationally Viewable, stay viewable but cannot be edited/updated by anyone else.

Impact on Workstreams & Action Items

What happens to Team Workstreams created by the user who exits:

Workstreams are owned by the Team, not by an individual, and can be updated by the Team Manager or Co-Manager at any time. 

What happens to their personal Workstream:

Personal Workstreams are personal and no one has access to them except the owner of the Workstream. 

What happens to their Action Items on Team Workstreams:

When a user leaves the org, Action Items created on Teams are reassigned to the Manager of the Team where they were created.

What happens to their Action Items on Personal Workstreams:

Action Items on Personal Workstreams are not accessible by anyone but the original owner. Unless the Action items are moved to a Team Workstream, they cannot be accessed after a user leaves the Org.

Impact on Meetings

What happens to Meetings created by the user:

WorkBoard Meetings that are created as standalone WorkBoard Meetings or because of a calendar event from Google or (Microsoft) Outlook will not continue, but they are not deleted. Users who attended those meetings will still have access to view them.

Impact on Biz Reviews

What happens to Biz Reviews owned by the user who left the organization that were shared globally:

Biz Reviews that were shared globally or with specific people or teams stay active and shared with participants. 

If it's known that a user is leaving, then it's preferable to have that user give Editor permissions to another teammate. 

Any Biz Review in WorkBoard can be duplicated by users who have access to View it without having Editor permissions, so another option is to Duplicate, Leave (the old Biz Review), update the duplicated Biz Review, and share it out with your Team.

Was this article helpful?
2 out of 2 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request