Team Member Permissions

Overview

Every team in WorkBoard consists of a set of people who are driving the outcomes and executing on the work for that team. People can be on multiple teams in WorkBoard, and they can have various roles and permissions on each team they are a part of!

mceclip0.png

WorkBoard Permissions Breakdown

Managing Team Workstreams

Workstream Permissions Manager Co-Manager Team Admin Member Executive Viewer
Update Team Action Item Status Yes Yes No No No
Update Team Action Item Assignee/Effort
Yes Yes No No No
Create Yes Yes Yes No No
Edit Sharing Settings/Move/Copy/ Close/Archive/Delete Team Workstreams Yes Yes Yes No No
Update Team Action Item Yes Yes Yes No No

Managing Team OKRs

OKR Permissions Manager Co-Manager Team Admin Member Executive Viewer
Create/Edit/Move/Copy/Reset/Delete Objectives Yes Yes Yes No No
Create, edit, & delete Key Results (that you do not own) Yes Yes Yes No No
Edit Key Results: Updater Yes Yes Yes No No
Edit Key Results: Owner Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
Own Objectives Yes Yes No No No

Team Management

Team Permissions Manager Co-Manager Team Admin Member Executive Viewer
Update Team Name Yes Yes No No No
Manage Team Members Yes Yes Yes No No
Manage Team Member Permissions Yes Yes No No No
Archive Team Yes Yes Yes No No
Delete Team Yes Yes No No No

Changing Team Member Permissions

Team Members with the Manager or Co-manager Role are the only users with the ability to change the Roles of other Team Members.

Steps

1. As a Manager or Co-Manager of the Team in question click on the Team Members tab.

2. Click on the blue link text under the Permission column next to any user.

2020-12-03_10-29-41.png

3. A pop-up will appear with the ability to change that users Permission.

Note: Please note that users are not able to change their own role on the team.

Passing ownership of the Team

Team Managers and WorkBoard Administrators can change to ownership to another user. 

Steps

1. As the Team Manager (owner), follow the steps above but select the new Team Manager.

2. Choose the Manager Permission.

3. This automatically demotes you to a Co-Manager. At this point, you can leave the team or stay on as a Co-Manager.

Note: Each team can have only one manager.

Was this article helpful?
9 out of 9 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request