Managing Team Member & Manager Permissions

Overview

WorkBoard Teams consist of a set of individuals who work together to drive team outcomes and execute work. With WorkBoard, you can be a member of multiple teams and have various roles and permissions for each team. 

mceclip0.png

Team Permissions

The different team roles are Manager, Co-Manager, Team Admin, Member, and Executive Viewer. Each of these roles has different abilities when managing work related to the team.  

Team Workstream Management

Workstream Permissions Manager Co-Manager Team Admin Member Executive Viewer
Create a Team Workstream Yes Yes Yes No No
Edit Sharing Settings/Move/Copy/ Close/Archive/Delete Team Workstreams Yes Yes Yes No No
Update Team Action Item Yes Yes Yes No* No*
Update Team Action Item Status Yes Yes No* No* No*
Update Team Action Item Assignee/Effort Yes Yes No* No* No*
Create Action Items Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes

*Yes, if the Team Admin, Member, or Executive Viewer owns the Action Item

Team OKR Management

OKR Permissions Manager Co-Manager Team Admin Member Executive Viewer
Create/Edit/Move/Copy/Reset/Delete Objectives Yes Yes Yes No No
Create, edit, & delete Key Results (that you do not own) Yes Yes Yes No No
Edit Key Results: Updater Yes Yes Yes No No
Edit Key Results: Owner Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
Own Objectives Yes Yes No No No

 

Team Management

Team Permissions Manager Co-Manager Team Admin Member Executive Viewer
Update Team Name Yes Yes No No No
Manage Team Members Yes Yes Yes No No
Manage Team Member Permissions Yes Yes No No No
Archive Team Yes Yes Yes No No
Delete Team Yes Yes No No No

 

Canvas Permissions

Canvas permissions are separate from team permissions. However, users must be a member of the team if they want to create a team Canvas template. If that Canvas is shared with a team, any changes to the users added or removed from the team will also reflect in the Canvas. You can learn more about the sharing permissions in Canvas in this article.

Change Team Member Permissions

Team Members with Manager or Co-Manager permissions can change the role of other Team Members. As a Manager or Co-Manager, follow the steps below to change a user's permission on the team.

  1. Click Teamwork from the main menu
  2. Select Teams
  3. Select the applicable team name you'd like to access
  4. Click on the Team Members tab
  5. Click on the blue hyperlink under the Permissions column next to any user2020-12-03_10-29-41.png
  6. Select the desired role
  7. Select Save to lock in your changes 

Note: Users are not able to change their own role on the team.

Assign a New Manager for a Team

You can assign a new Manager to a team on WorkBoard. In order to do so, your team must already have a Manager, Co-Manager, or Admin role on the Team.

Notes on Team Managers:

  • OKRs will stay assigned to a former deactivated Manager until a new user is assigned that permission, if the member offboards without promoting another user to a Manager. 
  • The WorkBoard Administrator has to manually promote a new user to Team Manager.
  • A Co-Manager cannot make themselves Manager. 
  1. Click Teamwork from the main menu
  2. Select Teams
  3. Select the applicable team name you'd like to access
  4. Click on the Team Members tab
  5. Make sure the new Manager is a Member of the team 
    Note: Only members with roles other than "manager" (example: Members or Co-Managers) can be changed to Manager
  6. Click on the user's blue-hyperlinked title under the Permissions column to change user permissions

    Note: You won't have the option to click on yourself, or the existing manager of the team 

     

  7. Select the Manager permission
  8. Confirm the permission change by selecting Save
    Note:
    If you're the Manager of your team, your role will change to Co-Manager, since a team can have only one Manager.
Was this article helpful?
14 out of 14 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request